My Thumb Is Still Attached!

I had quite the traumatic experience with a blender last night.
I’d just finished making my favorite green smoothie (I will write more about this soon!), and in reaching to wipe off the back of the blender, my thumb got stuck under the engine revolver.
This wouldn’t have been a problem if the the blender wasn’t plugged in, but it was.
I accidentally hit the ‘ice crush’ button while my thumb was near the engine revolver, and in an instant, my thumb was sucked under the piece, I felt my finger being gored into, and I literally thought my thumb had been cut off.
I grabbed my thumb in complete shock, too afraid to look down, but knowing that I had to hold it tight to keep the blood from going everywhere.
Oh, my, my, my.
My immediate thoughts went to my upcoming shows and school presentations and how would I play the piano/guitar without my thumb top!? and God, please don’t let my thumb be broken off!

Long story short,
I still have my thumb.

My thumb is still attached!

When I finally garnered the courage to look down and see what had happened, I literally started REJOICING when I saw my the top of my thumb not hanging by a flap of skin and about to fall off or something dramatic like that.
Biggest little white light I could have hoped for in that moment!
My nail is mostly gone (kinda freaky).  I’ve got a pulverized hole in the middle of my thumb (the blender drilled through my nail and into the skin; sorry for the queasy-tummied out there!).  It’s a bit scary to look at.
But I have my thumb!
I am so happy about this.

So for tonight, some LWLs regarding the thumb sitch:
I still got to drink my smoothie.
My sister, Erin, and my dear friend, Stephanie were there to assist.
I woke up without pain.
I can still practice yoga!
It could have been way worse.

love and light 🙂
meg

2 thoughts on “My Thumb Is Still Attached!

  1. You are so full of joy and appreciation. Sorry to hear about the not not missing thumb. Hoping for a quick recovery and more guitar playing. Love and kisses from the west. Leslie

Leave a comment